top of page
5 Stars_edited.jpg

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Cheryl

February 2024

The quiet and serenity is just what we needed - to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. Absolute waterfront without the crowds.

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Anthony

January 2024

Awesome Spot

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Eliana

December 2023

This cottage is rustic and cozy. Every thought is given to the comfort of guests. The owner, Di, is pleasant, communicates clearly and has the best guidebooks I have ever seen for a holiday house. We spent three nights and made friends with a magpie couple and their two babies. A wonderful place for a couple to relax and recharge, only metres from the waterfront. The decking is beautiful and suits all weather. The WiFi is fast and we were able to bring along an Amazon Fire stick and watch movies without trouble. Highly recommend!

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Anne

October 2023

Very restful and peaceful

5 Stars_edited.jpg

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Kelly

October 2023

What a fantastic private retreat by the river. A great place for a small family or a couple. Dianne is lovely and very helpful. Will definitely stay again. :)

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Kirsteen

August 2023

Gorgeous, private right on the water....amazing views and very relaxing !!

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Jasmine

July 2023

A cute, unique property! My partner and I loved staying here and enjoyed the peace. Being right on the water is amazing and it was lovely to watch it out the big main bedroom window.

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Melanie

April 2023

Sunset Cottage is located in the most serene and beautiful location. The cottage has this amazing deck that opens out onto beautiful green lawns overlooking the water. You can sit there mesmerised by the calmness for hours. The cottage itself is adorable with two generous bedrooms, well appointed bathroom and a kitchen if you feel like cooking. We made most use of the large bbq outside. The perfect place to unwind and explore. We pulled our little ski boat up out the front and explored the water and then when we wanted to explore by road there was plenty of options with Milang 10 mins away and Goolwa and Strathalbyn about 25 mins drive. We will definitely be back!

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Stephen & Joanne

March 2023

Relaxing and peaceful weekend away, just what we needed. Very beautiful sunset’s. An amazing array of wildlife to be seen and heard. Words cannot describe this little piece of paradise on the Murray, amazing. Sunset Cottage was amazing also with everything you needed. Very comfortable and cosy little cottage with an amazing front deck over looking the lake. One of our best holidays, can’t wait to return.

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Ann

February 2023

We loved our 3 day stay at the cottage. Very peaceful and right near the water which made sunsets from the deck fantastic. Also within a relatively short drive to the Langhorne Creek wine region. The cottage has everything you need.

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Mark

January 2023

What a wonderful secluded quiet little cottage with amazing views right on the lake. My partner and I spent 3 nights away from the hustle and bustle of city life and we couldn’t have asked for a more quiet and secluded place for a romantic getaway. Highly recommend this place and will be returning at our first opportunity.

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Jane

January 2023

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It’s so beautiful and serene. A great place to just relax and recharge your batteries sipping wine on the deck 🥂😊

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Ally

December 2022

A beautiful spot that is peaceful, and perfect to getaway from everyday hustle and recharge batteries. Highly recommend we will be returning

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Gary

October 2022

Serenity, beautiful sunsets, completely wonderful.

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Megan

April 2022

Thoroughly enjoyed peaceful and majestic views. Cabin had everything you needed and more. We’d love to return one day for nice few days away.

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Helen

March 2022

This was perfect for downtime overlooking the water in a quiet and peaceful setting.

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Richard

March 2022

If you’re serenity this is the place for you!

5 Stars_edited.jpg

David

January 2022

We had been looking for a private quiet, peaceful waterfront getaway for quite a long time. Had had a few near hits as well as misses over the years, and our criteria was fairly straightforward - waterfront river/coast/lake with a view, private and reasonably good quality facilities. Sunset Cottage at Clayton Bay SA was absolutely perfect for us and fulfilled our exact requirements beautifully. The tidiness, cleanliness and quality of the cottage was really nice and its a credit to the owners/operators. The facilities were more than adequate, we took our own food and were able to cook up our own home cooked meals easily. We sat out on the front decking ( we took our own comfy deck chairs, although there is plenty of comfortable seating/chairs available in the cottage) looking out at the awesome views across the lake for hours and hours, and when the sunsets finished (which are absolutely stunning - hence the name of the cottage) we then retired inside for the night and watched the cricket & tennis after a lovely meal. Absolutely the best getaway we've had in ages and we plan on returning again and again and again.

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Stephen

September 2021

Pleasant and very peaceful weekend. The view from the cottage down to the water is beautiful and ever-changing. We had a wet weekend but that didn't matter - lots of birds and the occasional kangaroo visible from the verandah and an expedition when the sun came out to the spectacular. A great place to unwind.

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Rob

August 2021

Great place to stay and would recommend to anyone.

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Diane

August 2021

Great communication with owner and very accommodating after having to change date due to lockdown

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Tania

April 2021

We've stayed here about 4 times now, and will continue to come down as it's such a beautiful spot. Very quiet and away from it all.

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Deyanna

January 2021

If you want pure peace, amazing views and a comfortable stay, Sunset cottage is where you need to go. Clean and cosy! Warm and welcoming and has everything you need. We packed so much stuff, just incase but they had it all. Go and enjoy putting your feet up, watching the water, fishing, making friends with the local animals and when the day is over chilling on the couch with a little TV. Its a place you really don't want to leave. We are so happy with our experience and appreciate having the opportunity to be able to enjoy this treasure. Thanks

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Stacey

October 2020

We really enjoyed our stay.  It was cosy and quiet.  The only problem we had was that we forgot to book good weather as well.  We will definitely be back.

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Hayden

February 2020

All as advertised. Perfect for quiet relaxation.

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Stuart

January 2020

Cottage location is very good, quiet and comfortably outfitted with all the amenities you will need for a relaxing stay.

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Katrina

August 2019

If you are looking to sell pls let us know.  We absolutely loved the setting. The attention to detail inside was brilliant. 

Well done we will be back.

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Barry

March 2019

Really enjoyed sitting on the deck whilst my husband was sailing in the Rat Regatta at Clayton Bay Boat Club. Lovely being close to the water.

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Lexa

March 2019

Picturesque and tranquil cottage right on the river

Di's cottage was exactly as it looks in the listing. It is clean and cosy and is equipped with everything you need for an enjoyable stay. It's in a great location, not far from the town centre, and a short drive to other surrounding and larger towns. Being right on the water front made it easy for us to launch our kayaks off from the small private beach. We absolutely loved our stay, our highlights were the beautiful sunsets, being right on the water, having a great record collection and an excellent BBQ!! We will certainly be back!! Thanks Di :)

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Carolyn

February 2019

Nice weekend getaway to relax and recharge. Lovely view, well appointed house in quiet, waterside location. Would stay again.

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Justin

September 2018

Fantastic Place to Stay ! This place has everything you need. Sitting on the deck watching the sunset is magic!

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Michelle

April 2018

Delightful and highly recommend a visit you won't be disappointed!

Very relaxing. The sunsets are gorgeous. Extremely well appointed cottage. Spent hours on the front porch watching the lakes birdlife

5 Stars_edited.jpg

June

April 2018

"Sunset" describes this cottage beautifully, not only are the sunsets beautiful but the lake view is perfect. The location is so peaceful and the best place to stay if you are looking for somewhere to sit back and relax.

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Jessie

April 2018

Awesome little hideaway, tucked away from the busy city life. House is setup excellently with all you need but your food supplies. Will definitely be revisiting on a regular basis. Loved every minute of our stay.

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Linda

March 2018

Will be recommending this beautiful cottage to our friends.

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Elaine

March 2018

We loved our stay at Sunset Cottage. It was peaceful and we left feeling relaxed. The sunsets were beautiful and the cottage was comfortable and clean. We will return one day it was lovely.

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Shannon

November 2017

The waterside escape we had hoped for - exceeded our expectations.

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Mark

September 2017

Sunset cottage is a lovely place to spend time: beautifully situated, charmingly decorated, comfortable and well equipped. We particularly relished both its relationship to the lagoon and the quiet and seclusion it afforded.

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Christine

June 2017

Fourth visit to Sunset cottage for a mini serenity fix. Thank you Di for the beautiful amenities and late check out was so appreciated.

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Danielle

April 2017

Beautiful place to stay, very relaxing. Will definitely be back again!!! Thank you so much for sharing your property with us.

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Alison

February 2017

We loved our stay overlooking the water, very quiet and peaceful. Cottage was cute and everything you could possible need was there. Di the owner was easy to liaise with and even gave us a late checkout which was nice of her. Overall a great experience and would stay again.

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Sharon

October 2016

.....our second visit in 4 months and was as fabulous as before. Incredible sunsets, beautiful, un-rivalled setting, exquisite birdlife ....utter tranquility. This is a place where you can simply recharge your batteries from the grind of daily life and "be". we love it and will be back.

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Sharon

June 2016

There are few superlatives that adequately describe just how beautiful Sunset Cottage is.

Beautiful pieces of furniture, immaculately clean, every little detail thought of - fabulously-equipped kitchen, an outdoor teppanyaki grill we fell in love with, a vinyl collection that added to the ambience perfectly, great indoor heater….the list is simply endless.

The show stopper of course is the setting. Step out onto a great outdoor entertaining area with a million buck, uninterrupted views of the bay. Constantly changing vista with the weather - bird life galore - absolute perfection after a hectic work week.

Sunset Cottage felt like a "home from home"…we were there in Winter and it was stunning weather - however had it been raining - we wouldn't have cared. Goolwa an easy 15-20 minute drive away, vineyards within easy reach, Sails Cafe in Clayton serving excellent breakfasts (v good value for money)…..and a seamless experience booking with Di.

We were discussing dates for the next visit/s before we had even left - it was THAT good and looking forward to our next visit.

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Stephen

March 2016

A thoroughly enjoyable place to stay. Excellent waterside location in a quiet little holiday town. The owners have set the place up very well with virtually nothing left wanting. Close to some excellent wineries and the South coast tourist areas.

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Jude & Dave

January 2016

This was our second stay at Sunset college after 6 years, we enjoyed every minute. Everything you need is there to have the comforts of home plus peace, relax and enjoy. Beautiful scenery and no traffic noise. Love it!

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Peter & Amp; Barbara T

May 2015

We we were impressed with the absolute waterfront location with gorgeous views across Clayton Bay towards the West. Quiet and secluded & comprehensively equipped for comfort. Felt like a 'home away from home'.

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Jenny

January 2015

“GREAT LITTLE COTTAGE! What a fabulous place!  Sunset Cottage ticked all the boxes - clean on arrival, comfortable beds, very well-equipped kitchen, and awesome TV/sound system. The location is brilliant and Di was an absolute pleasure to deal with. Would highly recommend Sunset Cottage and we will definitely be back!.”

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Anusha

October 2013

“Very private little place with all you need for a break away from busy lives..”

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Christine

May 2013

“This was my third visit to Sunset Cottage and one of my favourite places in the world to wind down and enjoy the peacefulness.  There is everything you need and more and Di is always improving or adding to the amenities. There are thoughtful touches everywhere and you know that as a guest you are well through for and provided.”

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Candy

April 2013

“This property was neat, tidy and quaint. The view over the water was spectacular and the location was nice and quiet - just what we needed to relax and unwind and 'recharge our batteries'. We would stay here again if we were to come back to Clayton Bay.”

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Megan

January 2012

"Very pleasant to deal with. Quick response to questions. Well priced. AAA

Only need to bring yourself as has everything possible plus more. Beautiful sunset views. Very peaceful. Not too far from Goolwa and Victor Harbor. The perfect little cottage."

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Alison

September 2011

"Charming little cottage with an old world and cosy feel. Loved to drink tea from decent china teacups too.  Serene setting and if you love bird life you won't be disappointed. Would certainly like to have a break there again."

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Christine

August 2011

“It was our second time at Sunset Cottage and we look forward to staying again. Being right on the water is wonderful with a peaceful and serence outlook.  Di has thoughtfully made Sunset Cottage so comfortable and delightful. The extra touches are appreciated and we will be returning very soon. ”

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Odette

May 2011

“Beautiful view of the lake. Peaceful and quiet location. Cottage had everything we needed and was very clean. Owners were a pleasure to deal with. Loved out stay there and will definitely be back..”

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Mirdza

July 2010

"Quiet location. Everything we needed ws at hand in the cottage. Stunning sunsets to view from inside or on verandah - Pelicans galore.  A great short break and we hope to get back sometime".

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Theresa

June 2010

"The view from the cottage was beautiful. It was so peaceful, sounds of the distant surf and lots of birds was all that was heard. Very relaxing! Would definitely recommend to others and will be back in the future."

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Judith

January 2010

"Overall a beautiful, secluded and quiet spot. The cottage was clean and mostly everything you wanted except for food was there. Totally relaxing.
The owners were in constant contact right up to the date of going to the cottage."

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Jenny

October 2009

"Beautiful location with spectacular sunsets. Clean, comfortable accommodation well equipped. Good birding and would be a wonderful place for boating/fishing. Quiet and private."

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Christine

July 2009

"A lovely cottage with so much thought, consideration and attention to detail. Our stay there went by too quickly but we will be sure to return very soon for another peaceful and relaxing interlude."

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Erika

April 2009

"I had a lovely stay at Sunset Cottage, it was very affordable and everything I needed was provided. It was cosy and secluded which was exactly what I required. I can't wait to return."

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Alice

April 2008

"Really enjoyable. Cottage was fantastic, all we could've hoped for and more! Price was reasonable. Quiet town so nice relaxing place to get away. Facilities really good. Very comfortable. Absolute riverfront with amazing views. Fairly private."

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Lyn

December 2007

"We had a very relaxing stay at Sunset Cottage, meals at the local Sails club were good value and we totally unwound during our brief stay."

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Stephen & Tracey

November 2007

"It was a very quiet and secluded area,with a lake view which we very much appreciated. The bird life was abundant and not much disburbance from the boating activities further down from the cottage. If you want relaxation, then Sunset Cottage is the place to be."

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Cathy

July 2007

"Loved the cottage especially the location and the beautiful lakeside view."

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Shirley

July 2007

"Very pleasant experience. Personal touches much appreciated. Warm and inviting. The lake scenery is not an everyday thing - a real getaway. "

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Sue

April 2007

"The cottage is lovely; the views stunning- wonderful at sunset and wonderful in the rain. The lake changes with the weather and light and is a photographer's delight- with the many varieties of bird life,including pelicans and black swans. The cottage has everything that you need other than food and clothes and is great value for money."

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Rosanne

January 2007

"Idyllic setting, loved waking up to the view. Very cute, cosy and comfortable."

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Chloe

December 2006

"Beautiful location. Very peaceful and relaxing stay. Great value and would recommend to all!"

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Jane

November 2006

"Wonderful location, true to description, right on the waterfront with great views, fishing off the jetty, pelicans, sunset etc. The home was very well presented and equipped. Would definitely go back again, but not suitable for young children because the water is literally just out the front door. Can't wait to get back there! Very efficiently done!"

5 Stars_edited.jpg

Trish

May 2006

"We loved our stay, it was just what we needed. That little space is paradise - wish could we have stayed longer ........ thank you Trish and Sonja"

bottom of page